when in abroad

5D4N: Singapore – Malaysia 2018

IMG_7280
the iconic Merlion and Marina Bay Sands

Singapore is one of the South East Asian countries where Philippine passport holders can visit visa-free. That’s why last November 9, 2018 to November 13, 2018 I visited Singapore with Johor, Malaysia sidetrip where I booked via Scoot Airline (I highly recommended this airline! See it for yourself why.)

IMG_8510
arrival at Changi International Airport – Singapore
IMG_8516
Airport’s WIFI Kiosk
IMG_8511
at Ghim Mho road, where my accomodation located

Singapore was never on my options for my first travel overseas. But since I was very eager to use my passport, I decided to book an international flight as a gift for my 25th birthday. With its location just north of the equator, Singapore has a tropical climate and is humid most months of the year. The weather makes Singapore a great country for outdoor activities and some walking tours. During my visit, there were some heavy downpours and drizzles in the early afternoon. You can bring US Dollars and just exchange it to Singapore Dollar at Changi Airport on your arrival. Credit cards are also widely accepted in most shopping centers, accommodations, restaurants, and attractions.Chewing gum is a no no in Singapore. Ensure that there’s no bubble gums inside your luggage before your trip. Singaporeans are also particular when it comes to cleanliness so don’t dare to litter on public places. Eating and drinking inside public transportation are also prohibited and offense carries up to SGD500 fine. When riding the bus, always enter the vehicle on the front door. Rear doors are only for passengers going down.

IMG_8512
at their MRT. Very different from PH’s MRT. hehehe

IMG_8522

Why Singapore? Singapore is one of the popular travel destinations in the world due to its beautiful landscapes, cosmopolitan culture, historical structures, must-see attractions, special events and delicious food to name a few.

IMG_7154
at Gardens By The Bay

For easy transfers, I recommend utilizing Singapore’s public transportation like trains and buses. Tourists can also avail the Singapore Tourist Pass at SGD10 (1-day pass), SGD16 (2-day pass), and SGD20 (3-day pass). The pass is inclusive of unlimited rides on Singapore’s public bus services, MRT, and LRT trains. You can avail the pass at any SMRT station where the card is subjected at a SGD10 deposit that you can get when you surrender the card upon its expiration. Klook is a great platform for tours and activities in Singapore. From 4G Wifi Device to park tickets like Universal Studios Singapore, Adventure Cove Waterpark, Night Safari, or Jurong Bird Park. For cultural and natural attraction and activities, you can also buy passes from them before your trip to Singapore. These include nature kayaking, biking adventure in Pulau Ubin, and Singapore River Cruise.

IMG_8549
Food in Singapore is not cheap when you plan to dine in restaurants and cafes. However, hawker centers are famous for locals and tourists alike for cheap yet satisfying meals.

IMG_8519

IMG_8518

IMG_8517
Mee Siam

IMG_8520

 

IMG_8521
a room where I stayed

It was cloudy but was scorching hot and humidity was high. If you travel by this time, I suggest that you bring a water bottle with you, a nice cap, sun glasses, wear comfortable walking shoes and sunscreen lotion.

IMG_8523

IMG_8524
my lunch at Noodles Bar (must try!!!)
IMG_7790
@ Sands Skypark

IMG_8548

IMG_8547

IMG_7079
Gardens by the bay behind me

IMG_7056
On the first day, we went to Marina Bay Mall to eat our lunch and explore inside Marina Bay Museum and photo op in Sands Park Skygarden before we went to Gardens by the bay a walking distance from Marina Hotel.

IMG_7085
Going to Gardens by the Bay
IMG_8513
Marina Bay Sands behind me

Snapseed

IMG_7183

IMG_7187

IMG_7195

IMG_7169

IMG_7210

Inside the garden, there are restrooms where you can freshen up and some vendors where you can buy some drinks and snacks.

IMG_8536

There are plenty of things you can do inside the garden.

Conservatories – open daily from 9am to 9pm
Outdoor Gardens – open daily from 5am to 2am (free admission)
OCBC Skyway – open daily from 9am to 9pm

IMG_8546
Cloud Forest

IMG_7218

IMG_7213

IMG_7233

Next, we went to the iconic Merlion in Merlion Park near Fullerton Hotel.

IMG_7265
Jubilie Bridge
IMG_7275
The Iconic Merlion
IMG_7307
merlion at night

IMG_7303

IMG_7318

It is also a walking distance from Marina Bay Mall via Helix Bridge but since we’re running out of time because sunset is approaching, we booked a grab going to Merlion Park (Grab app is useful in Singapore).

IMG_8551
Sentosa Express Ticket

IMG_8552

 

On the second day, my itinerary was in Sentosa Island. Though I didn’t know how to swim, I really love seeing beaches and there’s three beaches in Singapore located in Sentosa Island. You must purchased first an express ticket going to Sentosa and that ticket is also a passport for you to explore the Island it is an unlitimed ride for a day on their monotrail around the vicinity.

Snapseed
universal studios

IMG_7371

 

At first, we stopped at Waterfront Station. There, you can see a number of attracttions such as Universal Studios Singapore, S.E.A. Aquarium, Advernture Waterpark, Dolphin Island, Trick Eye Museum, K-live Sentosa and a lot more. But I didn’t enter the Universal Studios since my target was going to beach. For passes you can visit RW Sentosa website or Sentosa website.

IMG_7386

IMG_7391

IMG_7420

IMG_7448

 

Next, we headed to Beach Station wherein the 3 beaches located: Palawan Beach, Tanjong Beach and Siloso Beach. Since Palawan and Tanjong beach are adjacent to each other, I decided to stay there. I remember there’s a foreigner approached me and asked me to have a picture with me together with him. Nothing beats Pinay beauty. Hahaha!

IMG_7548

IMG_7570

IMG_7460

IMG_7588

IMG_7583

IMG_8550
inside the Vivo City Mall. Hehehe

After some strolling and sight seeing we headed back to Mustafa Center (nearest MRT: Farrer Park) to check out the cheapest chocolate in Singapore. Believe it or not, tiny toblerone costs SGD 9 for 3 packs. So, morelikely each pack costs 114.49 PHP in SGD 50 we bought 21 pcs of imported chocolates.

IMG_7591

IMG_8514
this is what I’ve got for SGD 50 only!

On my last day for this trip, I went to Johor, Malaysia via shared transferred bus that can be avail in advance via Klook.

IMG_7708
Legoland – Malaysia
IMG_7640
Legoland Hotel – Malaysia
IMG_7701
Legoland Waterpark – Malaysia

IMG_7704

IMG_8553
Ice cream at Medini City

IMG_7646

IMG_7731

IMG_7730

IMG_7732

IMG_7733

IMG_7734

IMG_7735

IMG_7743
at Johor Bahru, Malaysia

I went to Legoland Themed Park but I decided not to enter the park because it’s for kids only which I think I will not enjoy so as an alternative plan, I just roam around the Medini City and explore around the vicinity which honestly I didn’t enjoy but atleast, I visited two countries on my trip also, two stamps in the passport. Hehehe.

IMG_7744

IMG_7745
Last Dinner at Singapore (at BigBox – Jurong East)

IMG_7770

IMG_8554
Overall, my Singapore and Malaysia experience was the best thing that ever happen in my life this year. I loved Singapore already and thinking of staying there for good if I’ll pass the job interview I got last week. Hopefully, God will give me that opportunity. I really love how Singaporeans have discipline in their country and how hard working they are that’s why I want to work there in Gods grace.

FAQ:

1.What I used as network connection in SG and MY? For SG: Purchased WIFI Rental or SIM card via Klook. For MY: I buy simcard at Medini Mall (located near Legoland)

2.Did I walk in for attractions entry passes? Yes. I only paid for an entrance in Gardens by the bay (Flower Dome + Cloud Forest) but I suggest to booked a ticket in advance via Klook since its much cheaper than when you walk in.

3.Where did I exchange my Philippine money? In SG: I exchange currency at Marina Bay Mall and I also exchange already my SGD to MYR (Malaysian Ringgit) for my Johor, Malaysia trip.

4. Where did I stay? At Ghim Mho Road’s Condotel.

5. How can I go to Malaysia coming from Singapore? There are some ways going to Malaysia from Singapore I think via train , private car or bus. I booked in advance via Klook for a shared bus transferred going to Legoland – Malaysia but if you are planning to go to Kuala Lumpur, it is a 6 hours drive from Johor so extend your day of stay in Malaysia if you want a city tour around KL. Johor is like some provinces here in the Philippines all you can see is green and only a few buildings. Honestly, I got bored exploring around Legoland. There’s no transportation going to different places in Johor only by taxi. I was planning of going to Sultan Abu Bakar Mosque and Immaculate Conception in Johor City but when I saw the surroundings in Medini, I suddenly backed out. See it for yourself why. Hehehe. But atleast, I got my MY stamp (a consolation for me since I haven’t enjoyed the place. hehehe).

6. How much was my expenses for the trip? I haven’t computed yet but I estimate it’s around 30,000 PHP so more or less bring SGD 800 (ALL IN).

Any questions?

Contact me at:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/engrtherese
Instagram: @engrtherese
Twitter: @engrtherese
Email: theresetirando@gmail.com

Leave a comment